It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:46 pm




 Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:37 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
This is what I am using in Win 7 Pro, using left (FSX radio) and right (private VA channel) buttons to control transmit.

Image

Image

Image

Image
Reduce the distance and planes in high traffic events or to help frame rates. Radar doesn't seem to go beyond 120nm even if set beyond that distance. Having 120nm is useful to avoid traffic when no ATC is present.

Image

Image

Image

Image
(These are standard transponder codes for VATSIM Canada.)

Image
Do not use FSinn weather, the temperature is backwards. The higher you climb, the warmer it gets.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Set to your connection type. Disable P2P if you have a ghost plane.

Image

Image


Last edited by CVA0014 on Sat Oct 01, 2011 11:14 pm, edited 5 times in total.


_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:40 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
This an example of how I set up the panels:

Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:41 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
This is what the blinking lights mean on the radio bar:

Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:13 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
How to text on UNICOM, talk with ATC via radio, text with ATC/pilots via private messages and talk to CVA pilots via private channel:

Image


Last edited by CVA0014 on Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
These are my FSFDT settings (those 6 lights on the task bar):

Image
This just shows whatever frequencies you have set on your radios.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
I did not install Teamspeak on my system.

Image
I did not install RogerWilco on my system.

Image
I only have a headset, you enable your speakers here. Make sure the boxes are green! If you have problems, try using WAVE instead of DEFAULT devices.

Image

Image
This is where you set the 2 talk buttons: 1 for FS-X radio, 1 for private VA channel.

I have nothing in the bottom panels.


Last edited by CVA0014 on Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:39 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
I strongly suggest to CVA management to copy these images on the main site. I have them on Photobucket and won't be deleting them; but like anything free, that site may change in the future.

Stringing them together in a PDF and putting it up for download to pilots would be an excellent idea (sorry, I don't have a PDF editor).

Versions:
FS-X SP2
FS Inn 13b2.3
FS Copilot 17b2.4
FSUIPC 4.53


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:24 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
I start in this order:

- CH controller application.
- ServInfo.
- CVAkars.
- FS-X in windowed mode.

Then I start FSinn via the in-game add-on menu.

Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:31 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
I disabled the Multicore option, it does not work properly.

Image

Image


I added these lines at the bottom of FSX.CFG in C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX:

[JOBSCHEDULER]
AffinityMask=14


It run Windows on core 1 and FS-X on 3 remaining cores.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:55 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:14 am
Posts: 1513
Location: Brockville, ON
Hey Robert,

This is a great little tutorial you have provided for the folks here on FS-Inn! I know I have not used it before because I found things did not work right / more complex than I would have liked but some do like the features / capabilities and use it quite extensively.

I've made this a sticky thread now as I believe this is something that will help many of our users in the future.

Cheers! :mrgreen:



_________________
Darryl Brambilla
CVA Big Dog / Head Cheese
a.k.a. - President & CEO
CVA7769
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
You're welcome boss, more stuff.


This is how to use the FSinn panel:

Image


I did not include all sub-panels, only the ones I use for the moment:

mCP - a mini bar-mode version of FSinn panel (click CP to get back).
Quick - a barmode panel with shortcuts to common text messages.
wDst - haven't figured that one yet, no panels appear.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:10 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 168
One more thing about FSInn... disable weather! Use a third party (ActiveSky etc). There is a bug that inverses the temperature change with altitude. Meaning instead of the temperature going down as you increase in altitude, it goes up! Let me tell you, it sure makes it hard to climb when the air is 50 degrees!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 11:09 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
Thanks, forgot about that one.

The Weather pic has been updated.

That should also solve my weak climb rate in the 767. If I don't use manual thrust, I fall out of the sky using standard climb ratios.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 12:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:26 am
Posts: 583
Robert,
I agree with Darryl, this is an excellent tutorial! Your comment about not having a PDF editor though, I believe Open office can handle that. If you would like to collaborate I volunteer any help I can offer you. It's obvious to me that you have spent some time on images and a little more effort you could have a great PDF as well. Let me know.

Gary



_________________
Image Image
Global+Vector,FS_G 2010,REX4,NRM,CRM,PFJ,PNW,SAK,NCA,Tong_Fjords
0S9,3W5,7S3,KCMW,KORS,PAKT,WA56,WA79,W52,PAGS,PAJN,CZST
+Portland City,2S1,CEN4,CEJ4,KHQM,7WA3,CBB7,KPDX
G_NA packs 1-8,EDBH
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 3:58 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
(rambling post deleted)

I just had to draw the line somewhere. I did some research, put the pics up, speckled with some relevant details and gonna leave it up to someone else to complete a PDF.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FSinn settings in FS-X
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:49 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:03 am
Posts: 1516
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Great write-up Robert I have a couple of suggested tweaks.

Image
Here I set my multiplayer to 15 miles and 10 planes. I real life you cannot see planes more than that and it is better for performance specially in high traffic fly-ins

Image
Here disabled peer to peer is if your system has problem with ghost planes. I have it set to ISDN 64Kbits



_________________
My two cents! OOOps they don’t make cents anymore then my two nickels.
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron