It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:56 pm




 Page 4 of 6 [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:12 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:31 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Guadeloupe
Good evening Gentlemen,

Thanks for your help.
I am ready to fly on line but I will do some training before in not too busy airpots during some times to familiarize myself with Vatsim.
When I will feel that I am really ready, you will see me in the multi events.

Best Regards

J-C

ImageImage


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:53 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:31 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Guadeloupe
good evening,

The first steps are quite laborious. I managed to contact ATC. As you see as per following picture I had Boston contact when I pushed ATC button. The guy who was very polite told me that I was not in his airspace and told me to make a change in my internet browser
with this following reference : http:// vatsim etc I do not remember exactly. What does that mean and where can I make the requested change.

I was parked at CYQB to go to CYXK IFR flight.

Image

Best Regards

JC



_________________
ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:09 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 927
Location: Kelowna, BC
I'm not sure what he was talking about settings in IE but you were in CYQB and he is a Boston Controller.
You probably saw him in your ATC window. That just means he is in radio range, not nessesarily in his control zone.
You may get to and airport someday and have 8 or 10 controllers or a few pages of controllers in your ATC window, but you
should know where you are, and if your in their control zone.
I use VatSpy to see an overview of which controllers are on and if I'm in their zone. another one is ServInfo. they both show ATC and Pilots online
Both are very useful.
I think VatSpy is more user friendly. :P



_________________
GTX, UTX, Pacific Fjord, Pacific Northwest, NRM, CRM, Tongass Fjord, AUSP4, YBBN, YBCS, YBUD, YPEC, YHBA, KORS, 7S3, 1S2, 3W5, WA56, WA79, KCMW, 1WA6, Vancouver+
Image....ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:33 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:31 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Guadeloupe
Good evening,

Thanks Cal, I will download VatSpy and try to do some training with this product and let you know of my progression.

Best Regards

JC



_________________
ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:38 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
I use ServInfo. A very simple map that shows you and every other aircraft that is online, and every ATC that is online, no matter how far you zoom out or in. Whichever one you use, you just install it and then tell it where to connect to the VATSIM servers. You get the VATSIM server codes from the VATSIM site somewhere.

Then, zoom in to the airport where you are located and see which ATC is online there. If there is ATC, you would contact the LOWEST level for flight clearance, then ground for taxi, then tower for takeoff, then departure for departure, then center for enroute. Each will appear on the map with a different kind of icon/symbol. Centre usually has just a shading within the entire boundary of their control area.

- Each controller is trained to do his level of task (eg tower does takeoff) AND BELOW. So if there is only a tower, he will give you flight clearance, taxi clearance, and takeoff clearance as required. Therefore, always start by contacting the lowest ATC that is online at your airport. (Of course, you actually start by preparing your route and submitting it to VATSIM so that the ATC will be able to see it on their panel when you call in with, "Good evening [Toronto tower], Canadian 199 ready to copy IFR to Boston".

- If there are ATC missing from the next level and above, you will at that point be told to "switch to unicomm at 122.8 and have a good flight", and you'll be on the public channel which requires you to only type in your intentions when you want or when you are in conflict with another aircraft (did I mention that you must have CRASH set to OFF? :) You can use ServInfo to see when other aircraft are around, or if you're on the ground, just announce each step of your progress as in "Toronto traffic, B767 is pushing back and will taxi to Runway 24R".

If the next level of ATC is online, your current ATC will "hand you off" after giving you clearance by telling you to change to the next ATC's channel and contacting them. Then you would then repeat the cycle with that ATC.

You're going to have FUUUUUNNNNNN! It's still fun after years and years of doing it. Enjoy!



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:31 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Guadeloupe
Hi Rob,

Thanks for your precious pieces of advice. At the moment when I made my 1st connection with Vatsim and I got some words from a Boston Controller, I had fun.
It's totally different comparatively to the computer ATC which began to be boring as it was always the same sentences.
But I see also that you must be very serious with Vatsim by respecting their rules and that's a good challenge for me.
Will keep you also inform of my progression.

Best Regards

JC



_________________
ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:12 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
Yup, knowing where you are is critical.

I use ServInfo as well; I start that, and CVacars, then FS-X, and nDAC last (chart software, ATC usually give a link in FSinn where you can download their free charts).

You were doing good tonight J-C until your PC locked up. I suggest turning down graphic options when you have so many aircraft in the air. It might have overloaded your PC.



_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:39 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:31 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Guadeloupe
Good evening Robert,

I was glad to speak to you, it was the 1st time I was speaking to a CVA pilot. I will reduce as you said graphic options when there are many aircrafts. I am training hard and I found an airport with little traffic and the guys are often there, tower and ground, it is CYXU London in Ontario (Thanks to Vatspy and Servinfo). The first time they gave me much help.
In Toronto I was Ok but after pushback I was in standby more than 10 minutes and when the guy appologized for the delay,
my screen got stuck and I was obliged to leave.
See you with others pilots soon.

Best Regards

JC



_________________
ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:04 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
As I mentionned in another post somewhere,London is where Canadian ATC train.

It is perfect place for pilots to get familiar with ATC procedures.

My biggest problem is several ATC sound just horrible, I remember Anchorage, Vancouver and Toronto as being particularly hard to understand (I didn't notice their names).

And some come in crystal clear.



_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:51 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:31 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Guadeloupe
Good evening all of you,


Robert, when we had this discussion 2 days ago regarding the private channel, I went on the forum and I configurated the settings as following in the Control Panel:

VA Voice VVL is checked VA channel frequency 122.850
Channel settings rw.liveatc.net/cva

Then when I click on VVL of the Control panel I have a strip with only 2 frequencies which correspond to Com1 and com 2 of my radio.
I cannot find any private channel in addition. When I click on the third part of the stip after com 1 and com 2 I have no other frequency.
Hope that will help to resolve my little problem.
Best Regard
JC

Image



_________________
ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:17 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 927
Location: Kelowna, BC
There is a drop down list after the COM2, put rw.liveatc.net/cva in it.



_________________
GTX, UTX, Pacific Fjord, Pacific Northwest, NRM, CRM, Tongass Fjord, AUSP4, YBBN, YBCS, YBUD, YPEC, YHBA, KORS, 7S3, 1S2, 3W5, WA56, WA79, KCMW, 1WA6, Vancouver+
Image....ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:21 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
I thought the text would be available automatically in list after entering VVL info?

It's been a long time that I set mine up.



_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 927
Location: Kelowna, BC
I think that was the idea, but never worked, select it a couple times and it should stay for next time.



_________________
GTX, UTX, Pacific Fjord, Pacific Northwest, NRM, CRM, Tongass Fjord, AUSP4, YBBN, YBCS, YBUD, YPEC, YHBA, KORS, 7S3, 1S2, 3W5, WA56, WA79, KCMW, 1WA6, Vancouver+
Image....ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:04 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
Cal Jordan (CVA371) wrote:
...make sure the "S" in the top portion of the Control Panel is active (Orange)
That means your Squawking Stand-by click it before pushback at your are now squawking so they can see you. click it twice and it will turn to an "I" and then you are squawking "IDENT"


Hot damn, just learned how to do that IDENT request. :D I would just set the transponder to the proper frequency (they never said anything).

Do we leave it on Mode I until they give some sort of confirmation?

I thought I had read (probably on vatsim manual) that you set Mode S at gate and switched to Mode C waiting at runway.



_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vatsim Voice Channel
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:10 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
J-C,

Have you read this thread?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2685



_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 4 of 6 [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: