It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:10 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:30 pm
Posts: 266
Location: Nr. Toronto, ON, CA
I've had a couple of issues with the POSKY CRJ I've recently graduated to, mainly that the autothrottles don't seem to want to disengage, resulting in me bouncing wildly along the runway on landing......

If I hit the autopilot switch, everything goes off apart from the autothrottle...so, i've got into teh habit of hitting both.

last night I turned off autothrottle, then autopilot, but the autothrottle still stayed on.

Needless to say, it is embarrasing to be trying to engage reverse thrust and the autothrottle keeps pushing the throttles back up, and it does make landing rather tricky!!

What is wrong with my procedures here??



_________________
Richard Dobbs, CVA1409
CZYZ FIR [Chief (Ret'd)], RW Private Pilot

Image
Image
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 5:52 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
That has happened to me on all my aircraft. I always have to turn off the autopilot and autothrottle separately.



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:18 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2001 9:21 pm
Posts: 127
Location: Riverview, New Brunswick
actually - in real life the CRJ-200 does not have an autothrottle



_________________
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:45 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:30 pm
Posts: 266
Location: Nr. Toronto, ON, CA
Thanks guys. In real life i'm not allowed to fly a CRJ!!

At the moment, I love the autothrottle, otherwise I blast through 250kts far too easily after take off... Yes, I need more practice with the CRJ......

So I have to work on my landing checklist to make sure autothrottle is off.. very disconcereting to be on approach, just about to touch down, flare and then watch the ground disappear!!

I've also noticed that once the autothrottle is off, I need to move the throttle slightly to re-sync the throttle on the screen to the one on my yoke. Otherwise the same thing happens, I think I am idling but they are on 40% or so.


Another thing I recently learned is when on Unicom, be very careful where you type. I was typing in "CYYZ TFK" the otehr night, missed the box, therefore turning on Yaw mode, turning off the autopilot and wondering why the world started to spin (I was leaning on the yoke to reach the keyboard).



_________________
Richard Dobbs, CVA1409
CZYZ FIR [Chief (Ret'd)], RW Private Pilot

Image
Image
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:31 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:03 am
Posts: 1515
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Hello Richard, You do not need 100% N1 on take off, depending on the factors like plane/weight/weather. 80 to 90% N1 is plenty of power. I should keep you from getting a speeding ticket.



Edited By CVA9214 on 1175643123



_________________
My two cents! OOOps they don’t make cents anymore then my two nickels.
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 12:24 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
CVA1409 wrote:
Thanks guys. In real life i'm not allowed to fly a CRJ!!


Another thing I recently learned is when on Unicom, be very careful where you type. I was typing in "CYYZ TFK" the otehr night, missed the box, therefore turning on Yaw mode, turning off the autopilot and wondering why the world started to spin (I was leaning on the yoke to reach the keyboard).

LOL! You said it! :D

As for the text and the SB box, I've done that so many times. That's when I decided to buy a mic. Even then there are times when I have to type stuff, and WHILE I'M TYPING, the FS window becomes active somehow and I end up shutting my engines off or some darn thing. ???



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:09 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:30 pm
Posts: 266
Location: Nr. Toronto, ON, CA
Glad the "somehow switched back to FS" happens to someone else.. I start to type in the box, but it changes......

I have a mic, but the last unplanned excursion happened taxiing at CYYZ with no control with a fair amount of traffic around, trying to announce my intentions on UNICOM Luckily all I did was spins on the taxiway...



_________________
Richard Dobbs, CVA1409
CZYZ FIR [Chief (Ret'd)], RW Private Pilot

Image
Image
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:30 pm
Posts: 266
Location: Nr. Toronto, ON, CA
CVA9214 wrote:
Hello Richard, You do not need 100% N1 on take off, depending on the factors like plane/weight/weather. 80 to 90% N1 is plenty of power. I should keep you from getting a speeding ticket.

Thx. I also found a a good way is forget to retract flaps. That way you get half way to KJFK and wonder why you cannot get more than 240kts......



_________________
Richard Dobbs, CVA1409
CZYZ FIR [Chief (Ret'd)], RW Private Pilot

Image
Image
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron