It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:23 am




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 234
Location: Kingston
So I've decided that I'm sick of using Windows XP (mostly because i have the 32 bit version and can't use all the RAM that I have installed) and am able to obtain a copy of Windows 7 Professional free through my school.
I know that it requires a fresh install which means I'll lose everything on my current hard drive. I am planning on getting a 2nd hard drive during the wicked Boxing Day sales this week. What I'm wondering is if it would be better to install windows 7 on this new hard drive, leaving the xp install on the old one, or would it be best to backup everything onto this new hard drive and then do the fresh install on the old hard drive, essentially overwriting XP. My concern with doing it this way is that my old hard drive is a rather old P-ATA type and I'd rather use a SATA drive for my OS install.

So...Any advice, comments, foreseeable problems? And has anyone had any compatibility issues with anything flight sim related when switching to Windows 7?



_________________
Danny Burtch
CVA782

Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
I ran FS-X when beta Win7 came out. I had a few problems with drivers, but those have been addressing since then.

I was also having major pains trying to get Squawkbox or FSinn to work, like a lot of us. I eventually went back to Win XP 32bit and FSinn without problems.

But in all fairness, Win7 is supposed to be much better than Win XP and Vista. I'll be going that way on my next build.



_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 1:55 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:51 am
Posts: 514
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
I'd use the new SATA drive as primary



_________________
Barry Diffenderfer

Image Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 2:11 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:14 am
Posts: 1513
Location: Brockville, ON
Hey Danny,

I've upgraded to Win7 from XP and also Win7 from Vista on 2 different machines. It all depends what your long term goal is.

If you want added protection on your computer with having 2 hard drives then configure your system in a RAID1 configuration (if your motherboard supports it) and therefore wipe everything out and go from there - just backup everything somewhere else first.

If you want to be able to quickly fall back to what you have then setup and install the new hard drive as the primary drive and keep your XP drive offline for now until you get things working and you will be also able to then hookup the drive and pull files across as you need them.

Installing Win7 and getting things working will be a challenge for sure. Even though you are installed as an administrator you may want to turn off Win7's User Access Control in order to get things working properly. I have found that some things did not install properly or setup correctly until I did this.

If you need a hand, give me a shout as we're close enough and could likely get together at some point in the new year if needed.

Cheers! :thumbsup:



_________________
Darryl Brambilla
CVA Big Dog / Head Cheese
a.k.a. - President & CEO
CVA7769
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:00 am
Posts: 234
Location: Kingston
Thanks for the help guys. One problem that I had (which would not have happened if I read Darryl`s post carefully) was that I installed windows 7 on my new hard drive, neglecting to disconnect the old one. Apparently, even if windows installed on the new drive it put all the boot files on the old drive. I formatted the old drive and presto, windows 7 doesn`t boot. I then had to install Windows 7 on my old drive because I had already backed up some files on the new one and couldn`t reformat that on. To make a long story short, everything works good so far but i haven`t yet reinstalled flight sim yet. Hopefully I won`t have any trouble with FSINN.



_________________
Danny Burtch
CVA782

Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron