It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:34 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:54 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
I'm a little hesitant to write this but if you don't know, you don't know. I guess.... :?

The VATCAN Flight Academy had a lesson on Wx. It started out by saying that did you know that the weather you see might be different from the weather ATC or the pilot next to you sees. Sure, I knew that. It goes on to say that this could be because your sim wx settings might be different from yours. Okay. I knew that.

Then it says, "your sim might have wx set to static, and another pilot might have dynamic...."

Now I have been flying VATSIM since about 2006 and have 700 hours online and I always thought that the weather was provided by SquawkBox. It even has a check box to "Enable SB weather control", which I always click because I assume SB gets the weather from the VATSIM servers and then provides it to my sim. What else could "Enable SB weather control" mean? :roll:

But when I saw the Flight Academy tutorial, I think to myself, I wonder if setting that myself in FSX instead of letting SB do it would mean I might actually get something other than scattered clouds and winds aloft of 25 knots? So I look at my settings and its set to "Static weather of scattered clouds and winds aloft of 25 knots!"

:shock:

So, I changed it to Dynamic (uses Jeppesen I think), turned it on, turned on SB, and voila, today is overcast and no more scattered clouds!

5 years and 700 hours. :oops:

And not one of you noticed with all my screen shots. :wink:



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:42 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
I just reinstalled FS-X a few minutes ago, first setting I set, dynamic weather.

Always used it. :)

But it will change when I buy myself a few birthday presents soon:

- UTX USA & Canada
- GEX North America
- Active Sky Evolution, or something better if there is one.



_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 927
Location: Kelowna, BC
I have always used the dynamic weather, until I got ActiveSky when it first came out. Now I use ActiveSky Evolution which gives you very good depiction of whats going on outside. I remember once I was flying online and it started to snow, I looked outside and remember how surprised I was, because it really was starting to snow. :shock:



_________________
GTX, UTX, Pacific Fjord, Pacific Northwest, NRM, CRM, Tongass Fjord, AUSP4, YBBN, YBCS, YBUD, YPEC, YHBA, KORS, 7S3, 1S2, 3W5, WA56, WA79, KCMW, 1WA6, Vancouver+
Image....ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 12:37 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
Cal, does that mean you were flying in the sim right outside your window? :mrgreen:



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:39 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Up here wishing I was down there.
It's always beginning to snow where Cal lives. :D



_________________
i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz, G SKILL DDR4 32GB @ 3200MHz
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Formula, EK triple watercooling
ASUS dual GTX950 OC STRIX, HyperX Cloud II headset
SAMSUNG SSD 850 EVO 250GB and 500GB
EVGA Supernova G2 850W, CORSAIR Obsidian 750D
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:31 am
Posts: 82
Location: Burlington, ON
I guess it is never too late to learn something new,
I understand though, how you would think tha SB would override the FS weather settings.
Just think of all the other wonderous discoveries that await as you progress through the course :D



_________________
Pete Stuiver
CVA 0069 aka CVA229 when online
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
I found this on the SB forums:

SB4 when used with FSX has no weather.
(http://squawkbox.ca/forum/viewtopic.php?p=22450)

Seems that it used to do something with FS9, but doesn't anymore. So maybe I've only been flying with scattered clouds and fair weather since I went to FSX a year ago.



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:27 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
Ha! I just found out something else. I've been complaining that my 'B' key doesn't set the altimeter for me for years! Now I know why. It doesn't work when FSX Wx is on static but now works fine.

I've also got winds aloft at 60 knots and gusty - I'm being thrown around something fierce in my 767.

yay! :D



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:34 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
Wow for the winds! 60 knots at FL390. 75 knots at FL350!

Is this normal for FS metar? I'd hate to have to fly upwind in this.



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 6:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 927
Location: Kelowna, BC
Yes it's normal, I've had 140 knot head winds and tail winds, also if you airspeed quits and goes to 0 turn the pitot heat on.
pitot and engine heat should be on at or below 0*C and the engines may have reduced power if icing occurs. :shock:



_________________
GTX, UTX, Pacific Fjord, Pacific Northwest, NRM, CRM, Tongass Fjord, AUSP4, YBBN, YBCS, YBUD, YPEC, YHBA, KORS, 7S3, 1S2, 3W5, WA56, WA79, KCMW, 1WA6, Vancouver+
Image....ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:38 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:16 am
Posts: 2586
Location: Ottawa
Cal Jordan (CVA371) wrote:
...I've had 140 knot head winds and tail winds...


Is that at the same time, Cal?

I think I'm going to give up on this rw winds. I don't mind dealing with wind factors in flying, but this 767 gets really thrown around as a matter of course - with gusts I guess. That's not real. I've rarely heard of it and I've had a lot of 40th birthdays. But this happens every flight the whole time enroute.

:evil:



_________________
XFX 780i MB, W7-64, E8500 core2duo, 8GB, ATI HD5750
fsx, utx, gex canada, and ftx rocky mountains, pacific northwest, and pacific fjords

CVA (established in 1997) is 16 years old this year!
Image Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wx settings with SquawkBox
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 1:56 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 927
Location: Kelowna, BC
if your running a reg version of FSUIPC you can diable the gusts in the upper areas



_________________
GTX, UTX, Pacific Fjord, Pacific Northwest, NRM, CRM, Tongass Fjord, AUSP4, YBBN, YBCS, YBUD, YPEC, YHBA, KORS, 7S3, 1S2, 3W5, WA56, WA79, KCMW, 1WA6, Vancouver+
Image....ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron