It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:01 pm




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows 10
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:35 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2000 3:36 am
Posts: 633
Location: Capreol, ON
Anyone have any info on windows 10 and what effect iit might have for flight simulation? I have windows 8.1 and it has been nothing but trouble for me. They are offering windows 10 as a free upgrade but I'm afraid I could end up going from the frying pan into the fire. I thought I read that one of our CVA members was doing beta testing.

Cheers Bill


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:24 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2000 3:36 am
Posts: 633
Location: Capreol, ON
Guess I'll answer my own question. Windows 10 is installed. FS9 will not run! FSX will not install! Just friggin beautiful!!! Flight Simmers beware! The problem could be with me, as I'm not very knowledgeable with computers. Sure would like to know if anyone else has tried this either successful or not.
Cheers Bill


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 4:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 939
Location: Kelowna, BC
I'm thinking to stay with windows 7 :cry:



_________________
GTX, UTX, Pacific Fjord, Pacific Northwest, NRM, CRM, Tongass Fjord, AUSP4, YBBN, YBCS, YBUD, YPEC, YHBA, KORS, 7S3, 1S2, 3W5, WA56, WA79, KCMW, 1WA6, Vancouver+
Image....ImageImage
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:01 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:28 am
Posts: 106
Location: CYTA (Pembroke, ontario)
Same here, I'm staying with W7. Just spent the week end with the brother in law and after the free win 10 upgrade, his laptop keeps rebooting. Cant even start it in safe mode....he's not a happy camper to keep the discution clean :mrgreen:



_________________
Fly, Navigate, Communicate....words to live by!

Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:05 pm
Posts: 76
Location: CYFC Fredericton NB
OK so I am running Windows 10 , got the automatic download this week , it saved everything I already had on my PC. I had Lockheed Martins Prepar3D already installed and it came up and ran just fine .
I installed X-Plane and it is running fine . Yesterday I put FSX in and after a couple of errors and cleaning the disk with a cloth it installed , when the errors came up I just pulled the disk out and cleaned it and put it back in and clicked continue. The accelerator disk went in as well . Brought it up and activated it . I did find that the reset procedure for the product keys will not work anymore if any of you have tried the MSK928080.exe program , it worked in Windows 8.1 but when I brought up the CMD prompt and tired resetting things it would not do it , anyway it activated both FSX and the Accelerator package no problem. I have not turned off the User Account COntrol because the new internet borwser "EDGE" ill not work when it is disabled but you can still use the old Internet Explorer when you locate it ...
I have installed Active Sky for P3D and FSX (two separate programs) as well as vPilot , Plan-G and FS Commander and the FSAcars for one of the VA's I fly with BUT I had to install this program outside of the C:\ drive to make it work properly. Put it on another drive outside the drive I am running Windows 10 on I do this for my Flight Sim's as well I don't let them install to the default.
I am about to install the CVA acars program and give it a run today . Aircraft , Orbx, other scenery all work fine with Windows 10 .. One big improvement is the starting time for FSX it is really fast I can be in the air flying in about 30 seconds , now this is just starting FSX and clicking on fly now without selecting any other aircraft but the glider , same with P3D and I have not had any lag time with X-Plane or the other programs.

Like all of Microsoft's new operating systems it takes time to learn all the quirks, I have worked out a few of the bugs and everything is looking great for me anyway Hopefully you will have the same experience



_________________
Do all the good you can
In all the ways you can
for all the people you can
While you can

Burt Dykeman
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron